The Transformers Movie

30 06 2007

Wow.

 That’s all I could say after watching the live-action Transformers movie. In fact’s that’s all I thought to myself while watching it last night, the second night it’s been in the theaters where I am.

But I’m getting ahead of myself. In spite of the tantalizing teasers and the really wicked transformation sequences in the trailers, as a really big fan of the original series I went into the theater fully prepared to be disappointed (hey, only Optimus Prime looked remotely like anything in the Transformers universe I grew up with).

Primetime!
Transformers 2007 Movie Optimus Prime

But. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. 

I don’t even know where to begins, so I’ll just ramble about it:

  • Peter Cullen! No one else can do Prime.
  • Hugo Weaving makes a decent Megatron. But Frank Welker is missed.
  • CGI sequences are nicely done. This is how robot movies should be made.
  • Keep your eyes wide open all throughout (prop your eyelids up with toothpicks or tape them up with duct tape) as there are frenetic sequences and you might miss out on stuff. 
  • An echo from the original 1986 Transformers: The Movie. One Shall Stand, One Shall Fall.
  • They nailed Ironhide’s personality.
  • The characters just look absolutely alien. It might take some getting used to, but I did like them when I saw them in action.
  • Never realized some of the Transformers used projectile/ammunitioned weapons that blow holes in armor. I guess that’s because they were all children’s TV-friendly LAZORRRR beams that didn’t really hurt anyone until the carnage that was the 1986 Transformers: The Movie.
  • Starscream is just bad-ass. We need more Starscream.
  • It’s got classic tunes by the The Cars, Marvin Gaye, and Player!

Overall, I had a great time. Some slow parts, as my friend Pimplepopper has already told me, but the ultra-fast pacing of the action sequences more than make up for it.

Hope this becomes a blockbuster in the US and elsewhere and justify a sequel. I need to watch that.

 Stop reading and go watch it now if it’s out in your town. For those in the US, just a few more days!

Probably everyone has seen the trailer, but here it is anyway:

Actions

Information

5 responses

1 07 2007
kastor417

I can’t wait it loks great and if your right then it weill be a hit

2 07 2007
Melissa

I agree: WOW!

2 07 2007
jinternets

Yup. And after you watch it, go watch it again!

3 07 2007
The Glaring Omission in the 2007 Transformers Movie « Jinternets!

[…] Omission in the 2007 Transformers Movie 3 07 2007 I had a great time watching it, as I previously said. But all the while, I felt that something was […]

16 10 2007
Chris

Do you Got Any Imiges like this one of Megatron and All the otehr Transformers?

Leave a Reply

