iPod killed the Transformers Star.

6 07 2007

Ever wondered what happened to Megatron’s ever-loyal-yet-blackmailing-soldier-slash-tapedeck, Soundwave? He didn’t get into the new movie, but apparently he’s been up to something after the 1986 Transformers movie. (Video contains cusswords and innuendos. Stay away, kiddies!)

Kids don’t even know what cassettes are. Lots of them don’t even buy CDs anymore… They use iPo…” *Click*

Classic.

And just in case you DON’T KNOW what a tape CASSETTE is (there might be quite a few of you out there), it’s magnetic tape spooled around two reels in a plastic case, used to store analog audio and some data stuff long long ago. Like what you use in miniDV cameras and data archiving, expect that they’re prone to tape entanglement that frequently resulted in the user tearing apart the cassette and ripping out the tapes like entrails from an animal carcass.

An audio tape cassette containing the sounds of my life (make your own at Says-It.com!):

Jinternets Cassette

You play them on a “tapedeck” like the Sony Walkman below. Yessirree kids, the Walkman has been around since the dinosaurs ruled the planet, and the name didn’t start with the Sony MP3 player or the mobilephone gimmick of Sony and Ericsson.

Sony Walkman

Get the straightdope on Cassettes here, and on Soundwave here.

Actions

Information

5 responses

6 07 2007
Brian

Awesome! I totally forgot about the Soundwave! I also completely forgot about the couple of the little transforming cassette tapes I had. I think I had Ravage and Laserbeak. *Sigh* Good times. 🙂

7 07 2007
jinternets

Lucky you :). I did have Soundwave and Laserbeak’s less-known twin, Buzzsaw. I still think Laserbeak was better.

9 07 2007
Eli

hey, i thought one of Soundwave’s minion was in the movie.. the one that infiltrated AirForce One? Or it could have soundwave with a built in CD player… 🙂

BTW, linked you up! 😉

20 07 2007
jinternets

That CD-playing mini-boombox was Frenzy. In the cartoons Frenzy turned into a cassette tape. Linked you up too!

22 08 2009
Tommaso Labranca

GOSH! I had one back in 1980. I was one of the sole five lucky guys to own one in Milan at that time. I still remember how people were gazing at me on the underground! If I just could have it back. iPod is great as I can take in my pocket all my life, yet… Those ruined tapes, the batteries running out, the look for a shop where to buy new cells…

Leave a Reply

